News Karnataka
Sunday, April 02 2023
Citizen corner

Home for Veerashaiva Lingayat candidates in the historical field

Home for Veerashaiva Lingayat candidates in the historical field
Photo Credit : News Karnataka

Who are the MLAs of the Belur Constituency?
Hassan: Belur boasts of being the site of the first Kannada epitaph. Channakesava Temple is world-famous for its sculptures. It is special to have both hilly and plain land. Yagachi Reservoir is a veil to the field. Boranna Gowda was an MLA once in 1952 under the General Constituency, where the voters of the Scheduled Community are more. Later this constituency was converted into a reserve constituency. Converted to General Constituency in 2008.
Political History: After independence, it has the distinction of having two MLAs as an assembly constituency including Sakaleshpur-Belur-Alur regions. In further development, the Legislative Assembly became a single-member constituency. Similarly, S.H. The speciality of the constituency is that Puttaranganath has been elected from three parties: Congress, Swatantra Party and Bharatiya Janata Party. Similarly, apart from the independent party, Congress has won 8 times, JDS 6 times and BJP 1 time. 4 times MLA B.H. Lakshmanaiah, 3 times MLA SH. Puttaranganath and HK Kumaraswamy are on the hat-trick list.
Belur Assembly Constituency, which has seen 15 assembly elections and 8 MLAs, came into being at the beginning of 1952 when Belur-Sakaleshpur taluk and Hassan Taluk Salagame Hobli joined, it became a two-member constituency under reserve and general reservation.
In 1957, both of them were re-elected under equal reservation. Meanwhile, MLA Siddaiah died during his MLA term. Siddaiah’s relative BH Lakshmanaiah was elected unopposed in the re-election to this seat. Later in 1962, the constituency was bifurcated and Sakleshpur became a general constituency and Belur reserved. BH Lakshmanaiah was again re-elected from the reserved constituency by the Congress party.
In 1968, SH Puttaranganath won from the independent party. This same Puttaranganath won from the ruling Congress (Indira Congress) in 1972. After this in 1978, BH Lakshmanaiah became an MLA from the Janata Party. Then in 1983 D. Mallesh won from Janata Party and HK Kumaraswamy won from Janata Dal in 1985. When the Janata Dal split in 1989, BH Lakshmanaiah contested from Congress and won.
After the unity of Janata Dal in 1994 H.K. Kumaraswamy, 1999 from BJP to S.H. Puttaranganath became MLA. In 2004, HK Kumaraswamy became an MLA from the Janata Dal under the reserved constituency. In 2008 the constituency was converted into a general constituency. YN Rudresh Gowda contested from Congress under the changed General Constituency and became an MLA. Again in 2013, he contested from the Congress party and won.
It is said that the direct and angry words of D. Mallesh, who was an MLA from the Janata Party in 1983, made him move away from Janata Party. As a result, HK Kumaraswamy, who was a lawyer in Holenarseepur, moved to Belur in 1994 and the voters had mercy on him not to look back at Holenarseepur.
Second, only Scheduled Castes, Lingayats won the last election. Even though Okkaliga is in third place, it is not a hindrance to victory as it is ahead in the votes of other categories.
In 1999, SH Puttaranganath was fielded as a BJP candidate to get rid of someone’s anger and he won without party differences. The incumbent MLA YN Rudresh Gowda, who had held many positions in the Janata Dal, left the JDS and joined the Congress and served as an MLA for two terms. In 2018 K.S. Lingesh became a first-time MLA from the JDS.
Competition of 2023: In the constituencies where the number of the Lingayat community is high, there is a high possibility of allowing a Lingayat candidate from all three parties. KS Lingesh is the sitting MLA of the JDS constituency and he is sure to contest from JDS next time too.
Hullahalli Suresh, who is the district president of BJP, is also running for the ticket this time. Last time Suresh contested but lost by 19,750 votes. This is the largest margin of defeat in the last four elections. Surabhi Raghu, who still maintains a good relationship with the state and central leaders, has created a sensation in the constituency and is currently active at the state level. Although she is not appearing much in the constituency, she is confident of getting a ticket under the party’s women’s ticket reservation quota.
B. Shivaram, alias Gandasi Shivaram, who previously represented the Gandasi constituency, is trying for the Congress ticket. Shivram, who was also a minister, lost his political base as there was no constituency during the redistribution of constituencies. Still, businessman and social worker Granite Rajasekhar is also a strong aspirant for the Congress ticket and is confident of getting a ticket under the Lingayuta quota and is working hard to bring party organization and Congress workers together. On the whole, this time the Belur Vidhan Sabha constituency is also set for a three-cornered contest.

Share this:
News Karnataka

Read More Articles
Support NewsKarnataka's quality independent journalism with a small contribution.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *